University of Technology Dresden

TUD Logo

Technische Universität Dresden (TUD) was founded in 1828 and is among Germany’s oldest and most renowned universities of technology. The TUD is the largest university in the region, with more than 36,000 students and 5,000 employees, including about 600 professors. The Vodafone Chair Mobile Communications Systems at TUD ( was founded in September 1994 by an endowment of the Mannesmann Mobilfunk GmbH, Düsseldorf, Germany. After the acquisition of Mannesmann Mobilfunk by Vodafone Group Ltd. in 2000, the chair changed its name to Vodafone Chair. The chair’s current focus lies on wireless protocol stack research, with a special emphasis on wireless radio network problems (wireless networks capacity), wireless modems, RF imperfections (“Dirty RF”), and computing architectures for wireless signal and protocol processing. Of particular interest are problems and solutions which are found in a tradeoff between these focus areas. During its 10 years of existence, the Vodafone Chair successfully accomplished 70 Ph.D. Graduates, 260 Master Graduates, 850 publications, 40+ patents, 74 research projects and 10 startup companies. Vodafone Chair participated in SUPERFLUIDITY related FP7 EU projects e.g. EUROSEVER, iJoin, 5GNOW, ARTIST4G, EARTH, eMuCo. The chair team, led by Prof. Gerhard P. Fettweis is currently coordinating four sophisticated international recognized initiatives: i) The excellence cluster cfaed – Center for advancing electronics Dresden exploring new technologies for electronic information processing which overcome the limits of today’s predominant CMOS technology, ii) The Collaborative Research Centre HAEC – Highly Adaptive Energy-Efficient Computing is carrying out research on technologies to enable computing systems with high energy efficiency without compromising on high performance, iii) 5G Lab Germany focusing on research concerning the key technologies for 5G mobile communications and its applications and iv) a TwinLab initiative with Masdar Institute focusing on 3D stacked chips for various applications. Currently, more than 30 Ph.D. students work at the Vodafone Chair Mobile Communications Systems.


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Fettweis earned his Dipl.-Ing. and Ph.D. degrees from Aachen University of Technology (RWTH) in Germany. From 1990 to 1991 he was a Visiting Scientist at the IBM Almaden Research Centre in San Jose, CA, working on signal processing for disk drives. From 1991 to 1994 he was with TCSI Inc., Berkeley, CA, responsible for signal processor developments. Since September 1994 he holds the Vodafone Chair at Technische Universität Dresden, Germany. He co-founded Systemonic as CTO, a start-up acquired successfully in 2002 by Philips Semiconductors. The main focus is on broadband wireless chip-sets. He co-founded 9 further start-up companies: 2000 Radioplan, 2003 Signalion, 2004 In-Circuit, 2005 Dresden Silicon, 2007 Freedelity, 2008 RadioOpt, 2009 BlueWonder Communications, 2010 InRadios and 2013 Exelonix. Gerhard Fettweis has been an elected member of the IEEE Solid State Circuits Society‘s Board (Administrative Committee) since 1999, and is an elected member of IEEE Fellow Committee. Furthermore he serves on company supervisory boards, and on industrial as well as research institutes‘ advisory committees.

Dr. Emil Matúš received his MSc. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Technical University in Košice (Slovakia). From 1992 to 1993 he was visiting scientist at Communications Department of University Erlangen-Nürnberg and from 1993 to 2002 he was research associate at Department of Electronics & Multimedia Communications of Technical University in Košice (Slovakia) focused on image compression algorithms. Since 2002 he is with the Vodafone Chair at Technische Universität Dresden, where he is leading HW design group focusing on research and desing of signal and protocol processing architectures for mobile communications systems. His group introduced award-winning Tomahawk heterogeneous manycore computing platform (DAC/ISSCC student desing award and Cool Silicon award) dedicated to acceleration of compute intensive applications in wireless communications.